Proceedings of the
Leyton Public Schools
Cheyenne County School District #03
Board of Education
December 13, 2017 – 6:30 p.m.
Counseling Office in Dalton, NE

CALL TO ORDER:

President Benish called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. Members present: Jed Benish, Colleen Cruise, Kevin Henke, Cary Linton, Jennifer Powell, and Rob Rushman. Members absent: none. Also present were Superintendent Lorrie Miller, Principal Lance Howitt and Recording Secretary Janella Kruse. In addition, there were approximately seventy visitors.

Moved by Mr. Linton, seconded by Mrs. Cruise to approve the agenda as amended. Motion approved 6-0.

BUSINESS MEETING:

Moved by Mr. Benish, seconded by Mr. Rushman to approve the minutes of the Board's regular meeting for November 13, 2017. Motion approved 6-0.

Moved by Mrs. Cruise, seconded by Mr. Linton to approve the General Fund bills and financial reports as presented. Motion approved 6-0.

Moved by Mr. Linton, seconded by Mrs. Powell to approve bills and financial reports from the remaining funds as presented. Motion approved 6-0.

ACTION ITEMS:

Moved by Mr. Henke, seconded by Mr. Rushman to grant Special Recognition to the 8th grade class for greeting, assisting, and serving patrons for the elementary Christmas dinner; to the Village of Gurley for their \$750 donation for the electrical installation of the Gurley scoreboard; to the Community Shepherds for paying outstanding lunch bills on November 30th; to the Leyton One-Acts team for earning MAC Conference Runner-Up, D1-Disctrict 6 Champions, State Qualifier for the first time since 1984 and Class D1 State 4th place; to Sierra Nickel and Paige Ernest for outstanding actor awards at MAC; to Raina Hartwig for superior ratings at One Act Districts; to Cassidee Murray for Outstanding Female Performance at Districts; to Hannah Vath for Best Actress at MAC, superior ratings at One Act Districts, and recognized as one of the Top Three Female Performers at State: to the MAC All-Conference Volleyball team selections (1st Team - Madelyn Watchorn; 2nd Team - Danielle Higgins; Honorable Mention - Taylor Borges); to the All-State Volleyball Honorable Mention selections (Madelyn Watchorn, Taylor Borges, Danielle Higgins, and Carly Fortune); to the Football All-District Team (Josh Kruse, Dominick Russ; Honorable Mention - Jaydin Gartner, Triston Gartner-Hume); to the All-State Football Honorable Mention selections (Josh Kruse and Dominick Russ); to the NCPA Academic All-State students (VB: Taylor Borges, Danielle Higgins; FB: Josh Kruse, Jeremy Carley; One Acts: Josh Kruse, Paige Ernest); to the Bridgeport 4-H for donating bottled water to the High School; to the elementary/JH teachers and students for decorating the Gurley Community Tree; and to the Wine Glass Bar Ranch for their beef donation. Motion approved 6-0.

Moved by Mr. Benish, seconded by Mr. Linton to revise Policy #4040 (Employment Terms for Classified Staff). Motion approved 6-0.

Moved by Mr. Benish, seconded by Mr. Rushman to approve adding a health insurance subgroup for non-fulltime employees. Motion approved 6-0.

Moved by Mr. Benish, seconded by Mr. Linton to approve the 2018-2019 Master Contract. Motion approved 6-0.

Moved by Mr. Linton, seconded by Mrs. Cruise to approve the sale of the 1989 Chevy bus for \$1181.00 and the 1992 Ford bus for \$831.00. Motion approved 6-0

Moved by Mr. Benish, seconded by Mrs. Powell to approve discarding obsolete technology equipment as presented. Motion approved 6-0.

DISCUSSION ITEMS:

Ms. Miller presented enrollment and other school district data to the Board so that they could discuss and consider possible action to reduce and reorganize the curricular programs offered by Leyton Public Schools beginning in the 2018-2019 school year. This could include a possible RIF (Reduction in Force) of 3.5 FTE teachers, but an addition of a .50 FTE elementary principal. Ms. Allie Peters, LEA President, read a letter that was a collective message from the teachers.

Public comments were then heard from Susan Foster, Brandon Fostervold, Jessica Smith, Steve Eckhardt, Misty Beutler, Renee Peters, Lloyd Searles, Jeremy Lee, Sherri Wiedeman, Barb Reimers, Bud Gillespie, Bruce Ernest, and Savannah Jackson.

While the Board did not answer questions from the audience, a few board members did make comments. Mr. Benish explained the timing of the possible RIF. Mr. Linton replied that these questions have come up before and that with a change in administration they wanted someone to evaluate our situation with fresh eyes. Mr. Rushman added that we all love this school, but with declining enrollment, we are trying to make a responsible decision.

Discussed that the Moratorium will be from December $23^{rd} - 27^{th}$ and that the facilities at both sites will be closed to everyone during that time.

REPORTS:

Mr. Benish stated that the building and grounds committee should meet again, but probably not until after the January board meeting.

Mr. Howitt reported on the recent crisis team training. He also stated that December 20th is a full day for students, that the 21st is a teacher workday, and that grades will be mailed out on December 22nd. School will resume classes on January 3, 2018.

Ms. Miller shared information from the annual State of the Schools report card which the state now calls the Education Profile. She also asked for volunteers to create a task force to review/recommend changes in graduation requirements.

EXECUTIVE SESSION:

The Board entered into executive session, by general consent, at 8:15 p.m. to discuss the superintendent's evaluation.

Moved by Mr. Benish, seconded by Mr. Linton to return to regular session at 10:50 p.m. Motion approved 6-0.

No further action was taken.

TIME AND DATE OF NEXT REGULAR MEETING:

The next regular meeting of the Leyton Board of Education will be January 8, 2018 at 6:30 p.m. The meeting will be held in the district's administrative offices at Leyton High School in Dalton.

ADJOURNMENT:

Meeting was adjourned at 10:51 p.m. by general consent.

Respectfully submitted, Approved by,

Janella Kruse Jennifer Powell, Secretary
Recording Secretary Leyton Board of Education